top of page

#2 This Ain't A Fairytale, Not Even A Perfect One Yet [December Blog Series]

Updated: May 13, 2020


Streetlights, street foods, tricycles, jeeps, fast food chains – I am used to seeing these as I take the usual way to my dormitory. In my story, the ten-minute walking scenario would not be necessary to be included in the narration unless if there would be an unexpected, heart-twitching moment to happen... which I am certain that it has a least possibility.


As of now.


The only thing that will always be new to my sight every night is the eighty percent of the unknown faces in the city; twenty percent of it are the persons I know – and it is up to me if I choose to approach them or act as if I did not notice their presence from quite afar. With hundreds of persons I pass by in a week, I admit, there has always been one person I am wishing to take a glimpse of. Just like how this cliche scenario of almost lovers or what-so couple awkwardly meeting at the most unexpected time and place, written in books I have read or portrayed on romantic movies I have watched. Just like how everything surrounding the two of you started to move slowly, then your favorite sad song faded in to elevate the emotions of your scene.


Yes. Everywhere I go, that person is with me.


I pray for even just a minute in one day that fate would be bringing us together, giving us the chance to see how we have been for the past few weeks, and letting our souls talk even through the windows of our eyes.


THEN

3:30 PM today onward, I had an early out from my work so I decided to visit my former school to check on my friends [twinnish], and waited until the dusk for a quick picture taking of the Christmas light decorations in the campus. While capturing some, a familiar figure of a person from far distance caught my gaze. I blinked once. Twice. My heart started to skip a beat even in the middle of validation. That height and walking posture, it's not new to me. One of my twinnish even failed to call my attention as I was busy entertaining my curiosity. He continued walking, and my gaze followed his pace. The person had my eyes on him for seconds and, thanks to darkness, it took me long enough to realize who that person was.


Sorry to disappoint myself but it was not who I, somehow, expected to be. I internally laughed at my own thoughts. I forgot to remind myself that I am not living in a Nicholas Sparks-ian setting, nor a fictional heroine created to be pursued by her man – even though it was dark and heavily raining – after hitting him the greatest realization that letting go should never be an option. How I wish, as a writer and a dreamer, I could also suggest an outline of plot twist or turn of events to my story. But that's not really how things work here in the real world. Maybe at this moment, I am not enough to be the girl – like in the movies – who will be missed by someone close to her heart because of her silliness, her smile, her laugh, her jokes, her thoughts, her babbling, or so.


I continued walking, looked at the few little stars twinkling in the night sky. Back to the real game of life! Tonight, there were no texts and pages added. No bittersweet encounters. No heart-pounding moments. All that are left with me are the ghosts from the past – the memories and still you. Will this fairytale ever get its favored sequel?

 

Read the previous blog under December Blog Series: #1 Cold Start of December

12 views0 comments
bottom of page