top of page

Healing with the Arts: Introduction

Updated: May 23, 2020


This New Normal surely taught us to break through our limitations from exploring. My self from the old usual did not imagine doing the things that I am capable of doing now, at the New Normal, while staying at home. Yes, everything happened in just a snap. I am still at the grieving phase of losing my freedom and leaving things from March 15, 2020 behind. How many months have passed already? Two months? But I can feel this situation will take longer — and the thought of it challenges my sanity as an extrovert.


Still, good thing I am an ENFP-T — or maybe not.


But one privilege that this quarantine gave me is encountering a FREE online course two months ago: Healing with the Arts. At my first sight of the course, my heart was quickly moved to explore it and started to take it every weekend. I have also set myself to make my weekends have social media detox time which includes, of course, taking my online classes and creating artworks or assignments in my journal (watercolor painting and sketching).


It was truly satisfying. It even drew out the other kinds of artist suppressed within me (visual and dancing). Most importantly, I was able to meet the healer within me and even my inner critic.


The entire process of healing with the arts takes time for me, especially that I have also discovered and admitted to myself that there are many process-halted thoughts and feelings that I have put aside. Many of it are still coming from last year, and even from the years before it.


Now I am grateful that I am slowly putting self-validation into practice. Normally, or maybe reversely transitioning to the old usual, I'd feel sorry that I am sorry for myself. I would always set aside everything about me, but now I am teaching myself to see my worth, to have self-compassion, and to find my way to unite with the healer within me.


In this short blog series, I will be talking about my reflections and discoveries in taking this online class. What is it that my heart desires? What is my essence? What is that I need to heal in my life?


Love

Empathy

Soul

Universe

Process

Theater

Smile

Harmony

Spirit

Healing

Depth

Growth

Journey

Significance

Budding

Flowering

Breakthrough


Dear reader of Healing with the Arts Blog Series, I am sharing with you few of the words that I find comforting and defining both my artistic and spiritual purposes. You will also get to read these words in the following blog articles under this series:


#2 Me and My Inner Critic

#3 Breaking Through My Obstacle Mirrors

#4 The Healer and I Unite

#5 Blank Canvas: The Portrait of Maarteng Binibini


If you're a friend, or a newbie in my personal blog, you are free to share your thoughts (muni-muni), realizations, recommendations, or short stories.


Check out this link to the discussion:

All together let's make this a comfortable space and creative outlet of emotions, KA-ARTE!

As you agree to be part of the new community I am starting to create, let us encourage everyone to promote humility, empathy, open-mindedness, and responsible use of this platform for social good. #ArteKomunidad


Maarteng Binibini cannot wait to get along with you and hear from you! Enjoy reading, ka-arte!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page